You are here

Pricing Authority

The Independent Hospital Pricing Authority's board (the Pricing Authority) provides independent and transparent advice in relation to funding for public hospitals.

The main functions of the Pricing Authority are to determine the national efficient price and national efficient cost each year for healthcare services provided by public hospitals to inform decision makers in relation to funding of public hospitals.

The Pricing Authority consists of a Chair, Deputy Chair and up to seven other members who have substantial expertise and knowledge in the provision health care as well as significant standing in the industry. All Pricing Authority members are appointed by the Commonwealth with the agreement of the states and territories.

The Pricing Authority is supported by a Chief Executive Officer, who is responsible for the day-to-day running of the agency.