Classification licensing and sales

The Australian Refined Diagnostic Related Group (AR‑DRG) classification system (the System) is a patient classification system that provides a clinically meaningful way of relating the types of patients treated in a hospital to the required to treat patients. The System consists of approximately 700 patient classifications with each patient being classified based on their diagnose-s, the surgical procedures performed and other routinely collected data.

The System enables hospital procedures to be measured by linking characteristics of a patient’s treatment with the services provided.  The System is of a very high standard and is currently being used in several countries in the Middle East, Asia and Europe.

IHPA owns the intellectual property arising from the development of the System and supports its ongoing development and distribution internationally. It does so by entering into licensing arrangements with interested parties.

The system is comprised of:

  • The International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM)
  • The Australian Classification of Health Interventions (ACHI)
  • The Australian Coding Standards (ACS)
  • The AR-DRG Definitions Manual.

Users of the classification system include clinical coders, clinicians, researchers, epidemiologists, public health officials, state and territory health agencies and health funds.

What licenses are available?