You are here

Admitted acute care

Admitted acute care is care in which the primary treatment goal is to:

  • manage labour (obstetric)
  • cure illness or provide definitive treatment of injury
  • perform surgery
  • relieve symptoms of illness or injury (excluding palliative care)
  • reduce severity of an illness or injury
  • protect against exacerbation of illness or injury which could threaten life or normal function
  • perform diagnostic or therapeutic procedures.

The Australian Coding Standards (ACS) are a set of rules used by health information managers and clinical coders in the assignment of codes that represent diseases or interventions relevant for episodes of admitted acute care. The ACS are used with the following classifications:

  • International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM)
  • Australian Classification of Health Interventions (ACHI)

This classification system is collectively known as ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS. In Australia, the current version used for acute admitted care is ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Eleventh Edition, implemented 1 July 2019.

Episodes of admitted patient care are classified using the Australian Refined Diagnosis Related Groups (AR-DRGs). AR-DRGs are used to classify patients into clinically meaningful groups and provide a way of relating the types of patients treated in a hospital to the resources required. 

AR-DRG Version 9.0 is currently used for hospital pricing in Australia with AR-DRG Version 10.0 anticipated to be applied for pricing episodes of admitted acute care from July 2020.

Classification products

With a relevant licence agreement, you can purchase the following products for the AR-DRG classification system and the ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS classification system:

  • ICD-10-AM Tabular List
  • ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index
  • ACHI Tabular List
  • ACHI Alphabetic Index
  • Australian Coding Standards
  • AR-DRG Definitions Manual
  • Mapping tables for ICD-10-AM and ACHI
  • Code lists for ICD-10-AM and ACHI

For further information, including how to purchase the classification products, please see Products and licences.

Key documents

Key links