You are here

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition

  • Section: 
  • Publication Date: 
    March 29, 2022
  • Primary Keyword: 
    Admitted care classifications

Purchase ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition products

Access ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition education

The ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS classification system is used for classifying admitted patient care and comprises the following:

  • International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM) – used to classify diseases, injuries and related health problems
  • Australian Classification of Health Interventions (ACHI) – used to classify surgeries, therapies and health interventions
  • Australian Coding Standards (ACS) – guidelines for nationally consistent application of ICD-10-AM and ACHI.

The ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS classification system used in conjunction with National Coding Advice and the Clinical Coding Practice Framework.

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition supersedes ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Eleventh Edition and is applicable for separations from 1 July 2022.

Twelfth Edition has been developed in accordance with the Governance Framework for the Development of the Admitted Care Classifications and IHPA has sought relevant input from clinicians, jurisdictions and other health sector stakeholders represented on its technical and advisory committees in its development. 

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition is published as a set of five volumes which contain the following products.


ICD-10-AM Tabular List (Volume 1)

The ICD-10-AM Tabular List contains the disease classification at the three, four and five character levels with a symbol to indicate Australian codes. 

A listing of the three character categories is included.

ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index (Volume 2)

The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index is used to locate diagnostic terms to be coded. The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index contains many clinical terms that do not appear in the ICD-10-AM Tabular List.

The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index contains three sections:

  • Section I – Alphabetic index of diseases and nature of injury
  • Section II – External causes of injury
  • Section III – Table of drugs and chemicals

ACHI Tabular List (Volume 3)

The ACHI Tabular List contains the interventions classification.

A listing of ACHI block numbers is included.

ACHI Alphabetic Index (Volume 4)

The ACHI Alphabetic Index is used to locate intervention terms to be coded. The ACHI Alphabetic Index contains many clinical terms that do not appear in the ACHI Tabular List.

Australian Coding Standards (Volume 5)

The Australian Coding Standards contains the national standards which that provide guidance in the application of the ICD-10-AM and the ACHI codes.

Two appendices are included:

  • Appendix A – Clinical coders’ creed
  • Appendix B – Guidelines for formulating clinical documentation queries.

To purchase the ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition volumes, the electronic code lists or mapping tables, please visit the Lane Print website

Please note that the purchase and use of these products are subject to licence arrangements – further information can be found on the Lane Print website. 


Twelfth Edition

  • ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Twelfth Edition Chronicle (PDF) (available from July 2022)
  • ICD-10 and ICD-10-AM Twelfth Edition mapping tables (Excel) (available from July 2022)
  • Medicare Benefits Schedule and ACHI Twelfth Edition mapping table (Excel) (available from July 2022)
  • ICD-10-AM Unacceptable Principal Diagnosis Codes (Excel) (available from July 2022)
  • ICD-10-AM Twelfth Edition Special tabulation lists for mortality and morbidity (Excel) (available from July 2022).

Previous editions